Top white facebook2x Top white twitter2x Top white phone2x 07805 025161 Top white email2x Email us Top white search2x Basket Login Join
Home > News > Congratulations To The Cat Fest Winners
Home > News > Congratulations To The Cat Fest Winners

Congratulations To The Cat Fest Winners

Published 11:10 on 1 Oct 2018

A great weekend of sailing, camaraderie and partying was had by all during Cat Fest 2018. The event incorporated the National Championships of the F18, Nacra 15, Tornado and Spitfire Classes as well a traveller event for the Shearwaters and Slow and Fast handicap fleets. For the F18s racing started on Friday and the fleet raced a total of nine races, whilst for the other classes is was six races over Saturday and Sunday.

As always the White Family were front and centre helping to promote and host the event with a well laden tea table on arrival back ashore after sailing Saturday and Sunday and delicious club suppers on Friday and Saturday. Saturday night also featured the always fabulous Contraband with some impressive dancing into the early hours.

On the water the conditions were mixed with stronger breezes on Friday. Saturday and Sunday were lighter but both produced great racing for all. Huge thanks must go to all the club volunteers, led by Race Officer Dave Charlton, who did such a great job of running the racing in the often very shifty breeze. Thanks also to those who handled all the behind the scenes admin and ran the race desk, to the cadets and club members who acted as launching trolley dollies and to those who provided galley support. Too many names to mention individually as always we couldn't do it without them.

The largest fleet taking part were the F18s with 13 boats racing. Competition was fierce but the father and son duo of Hans and Marius Van Dam from the Royal Mass Yacht Club in the Netherlands produced a perfect score of straight wins to claim the 2018 F18 Open British National Championship trophy. Simon Northrop and Caleb Cooper from Minnis Bay Sailing Club took second place with Grant Piggot of Western Sailing Club, crewed by Brightlingsea Sailing Club's Simon Farren, third.

Ten Tornados challenged for their National Championship and it was nip and tuck all the way with the result going right down to the final race. Brightlingsea Sailing Club's John Payne and Josh Hunt won five of the six races and only missed out on the chance of a perfect scoreline because they had to retire after being damaged in an incident in Saturday's third race. Fortunately some overnight boat building by well known local boat builder Graham Eeles got them back up running and they took the series by a comfortable five point margin from Thorpe Bay Yacht Club's Paul Palmer and Richard Hamblin with Andrew Brooks and Tom Dowley from Marconi third.

It was great to see the Nacra 15s at Brightlingsea for the first time and its clear there is a lot of young talent in this fleet. The competition was fierce and the results came down to a single point with Restronguet Sailing Club's Theo Williams and Jasmine Williams just pipping Abi Clarke and Alfie Cogger from Grafham Water Sailing Club for the National Championship win. In third place were Ben Harris and AJ Luxton from Weston Sailing Club.

The Shearwaters joined us for a Travellers Trophy event with eight boats racing. Mark Norman and Chloe Stuart took the first five races by storm and then decided to sit out the final race of the series. With a five point delta, Nigel and Ollie Stuart from Weston Sailing Club took second place, while third place had to be decided on count back with Shaun Allen and Elias Woodard just pipping fellow Felixstow Ferry sailors Alan Howland and Rob Britton for the final step on their podium.

Brightlingsea boys Tom and James King claimed the Spitfire National Championship Trophy with a four point victory over Blackwater Sailing Club's Marcus and Abbie Wallace.

The Slow Handicap Fleet could have been more accurately titled the Spring 15 Fleet and it was an all Brightlingsea affair with Gordon Deuce taking victory from Andrew Berisford by a four point margin.

In the Fast Handicap Fleet the A Class of Clacton Sailing Club's Peter Boxer beat the Nacra 17 of Grafham Water Sailing Club's William Smith and George Pulman with fellow Clacton SC A Class sailor Daniel Brzezinski in third.

Click the links below for the full results


Last updated 19:32 on 14 October 2019

© 2019 Brightlingsea Sailing Club powered by Sailing Club Manager